View high contrast

Western Australia

Tertiary Education Disability Education Network (TEDAN)

TEDAN is aiming to merge into ATEND during 2017 and become a State committee of ATEND in 2018.

Currently though, TEDAN is an incorporated association and an affiliate member of ATEND. TEDAN's mission is to act as a professional network for disability support practitioners working in Western Australian post compulsory secondary (tertiary) education.

The objectives of TEDAN include:

  • promoting co-operation and communication across the tertiary education disability sector in WA,
  • advocating for increased standards of access and participation cross the sector,
  • coordinating professional development for disability practitioners, and
  • facilitating links with ATEND

TEDAN has 32 members in 2016/2017 consisting of NDCO’s and disability practitioners from State Training Providers (TAFE) and Universities located in Perth and regional areas. An executive committee is responsible for the general management of TEDAN. TEDAN operates its own budget which may be used for professional development and training, and to assist members to attend these events.

The TEDAN network meets monthly and has regular professional development in addition to discussing issues that impact on the sector and providing peer support. Monthly meetings are webcast to enable access for regional members. A Professional Development day is organized yearly and additional training events are arranged as opportunities arise.

TEDAN has two state representatives on the ATEND committee, who provide and receive feedback on national initiatives that are relevant to the sector.

For further information about TEDAN please contact Alex Murphy (Chair) or Elise De Munck (Secretary)